When the other driver leaves the scene of an accident in New Rochelle, it may not be so easy to recover the compensation you deserve for your damage and/or injuries.
A New Rochelle hit and run accident lawyer from Morelli Law Firm can help you file a timely lawsuit so you can claim damages before New York’s statute of limitations runs out. We can also hire the accident reconstruction experts necessary to determine the make and model of the vehicle that hit you and potentially even find the driver.
For a free case review with a representative of our firm, call us today at (212) 751-9800.
What to Do Immediately Following a Hit-and-Run Accident
Accordingly, your first step after a hit-and-run accident should be to file a claim with your insurance company. Then, if the hit-and-run driver is located, you can also bring a fault-based claim or lawsuit against them for your remaining damages.
The insurance claims process can be long and exhausting. It is important to understand your rights and the terms of your insurance policy to make sure that you are being treated fairly and getting the payments you may deserve. There are many steps you have to complete before you may receive insurance money, like making a statement and submitting various documentation. Morelli Law Firm can help you with this entire process.
Have You Been Injured In An Accident? Contact Morelli Law877-751-9800
How We Locate the Perpetrator in a Hit-and-Run Accident
Hit-and-run accidents are some of the most difficult accidents to investigate. This makes it nearly impossible to pursue action against hit-and-run drivers on your own and without an attorney.
Once the driver has fled the scene, it is incredibly difficult–but not impossible–to find the responsible party. You need to have the resources necessary to hire accident reconstruction experts and other experts in this field who can recreate the accident for a better idea of what happened and how.
You may not be able to accomplish this on your own, which is why hiring a good lawyer to help you is a smart idea. That’s where the legal expertise of Morelli Law Firm can help.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Is Illegal
New York takes leaving the scene of an accident very seriously, per New York Vehicle & Traffic Law (VEH) §600. Even failing to report the accident can come with consequences.
For example, if the other driver only damaged your property, s/he can receive a potential jail sentence of up to 15 days, a fine of $250, and 3 points on his or her license.
But if you suffered an injury as a result of their actions, the penalties are more severe, resulting in higher fines and even jail time.
We will help you find the person who hit you and hold them accountable for their actions. Call Morelli Law Firm now at (212) 751-9800 for a free case review.
Options for Compensation After a Hit and Run Accident
According to New York’s Department of Financial Services (DFS), drivers in New York are required to carry a minimum of $50,000 in no-fault insurance. This coverage, also known as Personal Injury Protection (PIP), pays out regardless of fault.
This means that even if the driver who caused your accident leaves the scene, you may still be able to recover compensation through your PIP policy.
PIP covers medical expenses, lost wages, and certain out-of-pocket expenses after an accident. In addition, drivers in New York must carry uninsured motorist coverage, which also covers accidents caused by someone who has no insurance or flees the scene.
How a Lawyer Can Assist You in Filing a Hit-and-Run Accident Lawsuit
A New Rochelle hit-and-run accident lawyer from Morelli Law Firm can take the stress and guesswork out of how to pursue compensation after your accident. There are many tasks your lawyer can take care of for you so you don’t have to, including:
- Investigating the accident and attempting to identify the other driver
- Gathering evidence, including eyewitness statements and surveillance footage
- Proving you were not liable for the accident
- Helping you understand the terms of your insurance policy
- Negotiating with the other driver’s insurance company
- Maintaining a record of evidence and key documents, such as medical bills and receipts for damages you may be able to recover
- Pursuing legal action against the insurance company if refuse to pay out on your claim
Morelli Law Firm offers a free consultation to help you learn more about how to file a lawsuit after a hit-and-run accident. Call our client intake team now at (212) 751-9800 to get started.