Rideshare companies and applications started after the turn of the millennium and have become increasingly more popular. However, passengers are subject to the driver’s abilities on the road, and car accidents with rideshare operators do happen regularly.
If you were involved in an accident while being a rideshare passenger, you might be entitled to compensation for your injuries. A New Rochelle ridesharing accident lawyer from Morelli Law Firm can look over your case and inform you of your legal options. We also help drivers who were hurt in car accidents caused by rideshare drivers.
Contact Morelli Law Firm at (212) 751-9800 to speak with one of our team members about your accident.
Rideshare Laws in New York
New York State refers to rideshare companies as transportation network companies (TNC). It created the TNC Act, which sets regulations and requirements companies must follow for licensing. Currently, the only two TNCs licensed in the state are Uber and Lyft.
VAT §1693 says TNC drivers must carry vehicle liability insurance of at least $1,250,000 per ride. This insurance coverage may be provided by the ridesharing company or the driver.
Typically, ridesharing companies only provide insurance coverage to their drivers during certain times. For example, this insurance will not cover damage a TNC driver caused while they were not working. The TNCs’ liability insurance may apply when the accident occurred while the driver was:
- Logged into the TNC network and waiting for a request
- Picking up a passenger for a pre-arranged trip
- Transporting a passenger
Rideshare drivers and their vehicles are not monitored as closely or as frequently as other transportation services. It is possible for vehicles to deteriorate and for drivers to break the rules and policies, such as being intoxicated. Either of these circumstances could be a factor in your accident.
Types of Insurance that May Apply in a Ridesharing Accident Case
For an example of how a TNC’s insurance coverage may work, here are guidelines from the Uber insurance policy:
When the Driver Is Logged into the App and Waiting for a Ride
In this scenario, Uber offers:
- $50,000 for bodily injury per person
- $100,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
However, this insurance is only offered if the driver’s own personal insurance coverage does not apply. This can leave accident victims in the middle of a dispute over coverage between Uber and the driver’s insurance company.
When the Driver Is Logged-On to the App and Picking Up or Transporting a Rider
In these scenarios, Uber will provide:
- $1,000,000 for third-party liability
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
- Contingent comprehensive and collision
When the Driver Is Not Logged-On to the App
When the ridesharing driver is not logged-on to or using the app, the driver’s personal insurance applies. According to the Department of Financial Services (DFS), New York State has the following minimum auto insurance requirements for all drivers:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for the death of one person per accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $100,000 for the death of more than one person per accident
- $10,000 for property damage per accident
To learn more about ridesharing accident cases in a free consultation with our client intake team, call Morelli Law Firm today at (212) 751-9800.
Getting Legal Help for Rideshare Accidents
A New Rochelle ridesharing accident lawyer from Morelli Law Firm can assist you whether you were involved in the accident as a passenger, bystander, or driver. One of our attorneys can explain your legal rights, what the next steps entail, and what types of compensation you may be able to receive. In general, the recoverable damages in a car accident case may include:
- Medical bills
- Vehicle repairs
- Lost wages
- Pain and suffering
- Other out-of-pocket expenses
- Other types of non-economic damages
New York generally gives residents up to three years to file a personal injury lawsuit, per New York Civil Practice Law and Rules (CVP) §214. After this deadline passes, your lawsuit may be dismissed, and you could lose your opportunity to recover compensation.
Besides ensuring compliance with the statutory deadline in your case, starting as early as possible on your case may have other benefits. For example, gathering evidence for the claim may become more difficult the longer you wait. Evidence for rideshare accidents can include photos and videos of the accident, eye-witness statements, police reports, and more.
New Rochelle Ridesharing Accident Lawyer Near Me 877-751-9800
The Morelli Law Firm Can Help You Get Compensation for a Ridesharing Accident
Contact the car accident team at Morelli Law Firm with your rideshare accident questions by calling (212) 751-9800. We provide free case reviews to accident victims in New Rochelle. Our firm also serves clients in New York City, on Long Island, and in New York State up to Albany.